A Letter From Abroad.

Outside of Blarney Castle
Outside of Blarney Castle

My name is Jason Davis and I am studying abroad in Cork, Ireland at University College Cork. This has been an amazing experience for me. Thankfully, I came over with a few of my good friends, which made the transition easier. Ireland is a very simple and beautiful country. It is so green, probably due to all of the rain. People say it rains all the time in Ireland, and you think to yourself, “it can’t be that bad.” It can. It rains all the time. In February, which is their worst month, it rained almost every day. And it rained hard. The Irish said it was one of the worst winters they have had in a very long time. During the spring it doesn’t rain as often, but it does a good amount. Anyway, besides the rain, I have experienced so much. I have been to Dublin, the Ring of Kerry, Killarney National Park and the Blarney Castle. I wish I had more time (and money) to visit more places in Ireland. The way the school system works here is different than what I am used to. Students take classes during the fall. Then they get a break at Christmas. When they return they take different classes, just like in the U.S. However, they take all of their finals during the month of May, even the ones for their classes in the fall semester. Since they have to study for about eight or so finals, half of which they need to relearn everything, the month of April is dedicated to studying so classes end in late March. Luckily for us students abroad, we only have a couple of finals to prepare for (I only had 2). With a four week break, most American students travel Europe. That is what I did with my friends. So we flew to Madrid, Spain on April 1st. From there, we travelled to Barcelona, Marseille, Aix-en Provence, Lyon, Paris, Brussels, Amsterdam, Berlin, Interlaken, Florence and Rome. We did all of that in 20 days! It was exhausting but worth every second. It was probably (and always will be) the most amazing experience in my life. We saw every major attraction we could. If I had to choose I would probably say that visiting Interlaken was my favorite part of the trip. Interlaken is a small town located in the heart of the Swiss Alps. We didn’t actually do much besides walk around and ride bikes but sitting on a bench at their park with the Swiss Alps in the background was absolutely breath taking. If anyone ever has the chance, I highly recommend experiencing the Swiss Alps and the small town of Interlaken. After return back to Ireland and taking my finals, my friends and I travelled a bit more. We visited London and the Cliffs of Moher. I would recommend that anyone who has the chance to study abroad should take it, it is worth every second.

Leave a Reply

